2 Books That Made Me Think

I recently read Three Cups of Tea for my book club, and was a little startled to actually like it.  It really showed me what life is like in Pakistan and the Middle East, especially for children.  I couldn’t agree more with its message:  we can best combat terrorism with education, not war.  They are teaching young children to fight and hate.  Kids are such like wet clay; we can turn them into almost anything. 

I also read Angela’s Ashes, and that, if you’ve not read it, is also a story of poverty and a difficult childhood.  Actually that’s quite an understatement.  I just read an article about Frank McCourt, the author of Angela’s Ashes, and it mentioned how he tried for years to write about his childhood but couldn’t get past the anger, until he realized he could write it from a child’s point of view.  Children don’t know anything other than what they’ve experienced in their brief lives, so as a child I guess he wasn’t as angry as he was once he became an adult.  Reading it, I couldn’t imagine how he couldn’t absolutely hate his father, so it was interesting to read that he actually was very disturbed by his pathetic childhood.  It makes a good story that much better to know it’s true, all of it, and to read how the adult who wrote it coped with things and worked through it to write this amazing story.  Truth is a better story than fiction because it’s absolutely real.

This of course doesn’t mean I don’t like fiction.  Doesn’t matter if it’s true or not, I love a good story.  I’m reading American Wife right now, and it’s a good story too.  Based on a real life, supposedly.  I’ll read more about that later.

Leave a Reply

